Walking past St Germans I came across this metal sculpted crucifixion scene tucked away at the back of the car park.

crucifix

The sun was in precisely the wrong place to take a decent photo  – perhaps I will update this at some point- but it is certainly one of the most interesting and, if I am honest, tasteful crucifix scenes I have seen in a church yard.

You might remember the story recently of St John’s Church in Broadbridge Heath (click the link to see the photo) who removed their crucifix in response to largely negative feedback from members of the community. Reverend Ewen Souter, interviewed by the BBC said:

“Children have commented on how scary they find it and how off-putting they find it as a symbol outside the church.”

There is no danger of this at St Germans, its crucifixion scene is a fascinating piece of metal work and its tucked away location (I almost didn’t see it walking past the church) makes it all the more intriguing.

