One of the interesting  and unexpected things about making my email public on this blog, is that I now receive regular emails from the Bill and Exchange Manager of the Bank of Africa who informs me that I am entitled to large sums of money. The fact that the Bill and Exchange Manager of the Bank of Africa’s name changes on a daily basis doesn’t mean this is a con surely? As a student I do with a few million, tax free, to supplement the wages I earn from the one day a week I work for my local council…

Usually I just delete these without a second thought but I am currently reading John Simpson’s Not Quite World’s End: A Travellers Tale where he actually tracks down one of these con artists, so thought I might try replying to a few. Besides, the rest of the country is gripped by the fever induced by some men running around a field so I doubt I will have much else to do today.

Here is the first email from Mr Wilfredo Steele, Bill and Exchange Manager of the Bank of Africa:

Dear Friend,
Compliments,Salam Alaykum!
I know that this message will come to you as a surprise. I am the Auditing and Accounting section manager with Bank Of Africa Ouagadougou Burkina faso. I Hope that you will not expose or betray this trust and confident which I am respose on you the mutual benefit for families.I need your urgent assistance in transferring the sum of($15M)million to your account within 10 or 14 banking days. This money has been dormant for years in our Bank without claim.I want the bank to release the money to you as the nearest person to our deceased customer,besides I don’t want the money to go into government treasury as an abandoned fund. So this is the reason why I am contacting you so that the bank can release the money to you as the next of kin to the deceased customer.
Please I would like you to keep this proposal as a top secret between me and you. Upon receipt of your reply, I will give you full details on how the business will be executed and also note that you will have 40% of the above mentioned sum while 50% will be for me, and the other 10% will be for the expences occur in this transaction, if you agree to handle this business with me reply immediately.
Also you can visit the website below for more information about the palan crash and he tragic death of deceased and his entire family,Late Dr George Brumley.
Website:
http://www.cnn.com/2003/WORLD/africa/07/20/kenya.crash/index.htm
I am expecting your urgent responses here is my private email address reply to this email address: (wilfredo_steele8569@voila.fr
Your’S Faithfully,
Mr WILFREDO STEELE
Bill And Exchange Manager,
Bank of Africa [B.O.A]
Ouagadougou,Burkina Faso

Here is my reply to wilfredo_steele8569@voila.fr:

 

Dear Mr Steele,

 

Thank you kindly for making me aware of the $15 million that has yet to be claimed. Of course it would be an awful waste to go into the government’s treasury as an abandoned fund, I am sure that I will be able to locate a distant relative or friend of Dr George Brumley who will be able to put money to good use although I realise this may be difficult due to the tragic, albeit convenient, death of his entire family.

 

I realise we have limited time and for this reason I am more than happy for you to take 50% of the money yourself, I would consider it only fair for all of your hard work. I trust you to do the necessary calculations and to come back to me with a final sum, I can then provide you with an address to which you can forward the cheque.

 

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

 

Kind regards,

 

Jon Doe

 

The second fraudster Mr Sani Mandiouf, also Bill and Exchange Manager of the Bank of Africa, couldn’t even be bothered to come up an unlikely back story:

 

– Dear Friend, Let me start by introducing myself,I am Mr Sani Mandiouf the Bill and Exchange Manager of Bank of Africa Burkina faso. I am writting you this letter based on the latest development at my Department which I will like to bring to your personal edification.($18.5million transfer claims). This is a legitimate transaction and I agreed to offer you 40% of this money as my foreign partner after confirmation of the fund in your bank account, If you are interested,get back to me immediately for more details, Best Regards, Mr Sani Mandiouf.

Reply to sani_mandiouf007@yahoo.in:

 

Dear Mr Mandiourf,

 

You are the second Bill and Exchange Manager of the Bank of Africa to contact me this week – I am glad to see that the Bank of Africa is not experiencing the same financial crisis as the rest of the world and can still afford to employ so many Bill and Exchange Managers!

 

I am truly delighted that you intend to credit me with so much money – probably best for you to send a cheque (there are some many untrustworthy people out there these days). Once you have come back to me with a figure, I will provide you with a forwarding address.

 

Kind regards,

 

Jon Doe

 

Now to wait and see…

